A number of recent Ofsted reports note that a common feature of the most successful schools surveyed was the attention they gave to developing speaking and listening

Membership of The Communication Council

The Communication Council is co-chaired by Ann Gross, Director for special needs and children's services strategy at The Department for Education and Flora Goldhil, Director for children, families and social inclusion at The Department of Health.

There are 11 standing members of Council representing the SLCN sector. Representatives cover stakeholder groups including;

  • Augmentative and alternative communication support
  • Children and young people
  • Headteachers and schools
  • NHS England
  • Parents
  • Research and academic community 
  • Speech and language therapists
  • The voluntary and community sector
  • Local Authorities
  • Youth offending teams 

We are working to extend the membership of the Council currently and will keep this web page up to date with information about any new representatives.