Poor language is linked to poor behaviour even in very young children. 2 in 3 language delayed 3 year olds have behaviour problems

Shine a Light Awards 2015

Thursday 24th September saw the fourth Shine a Light Awards ceremony on the top floor of the fantastic Pearson building on the Strand, in London. Hosted by comedian David Baddiel, the awards, which took place at Pearson's headquarters in London, are designed to honour individuals, teams, campaigns, communication-friendly settings and communities that have excelled in their support of children and young people's communication, particularly for those with speech, language and communication needs (SLCN).

Applications poured in from a wide range of individuals, nurseries, schools, colleges, practitioners, teams, young people, and departments from across England. The winners were:

  • Pearson Oustanding Achievement Award -  Winners: Lord David Ramsbotham GCB CBE
  • Early Years Setting of the Year - Winners: Robert Mellors Primary and Nursery School Foundation Unit, Nottingham, Highly commended: Bambini Childcare Ltd, Bedworth, Warwickshire
  • Primary School of the Year - Winners: Aerodrome Primary Academy, Croydon, Highly commended: John Ruskin Language Unit, John Ruskin Primary School, Southwark, London and Lark Hall Primary School, Clapham, London
  • Secondary School / College of the Year - Winners: Hampstead School, London, Highly commended: St Marylebone CE Bridge School, Westminster, London and Peacehaven Community School, Peacehaven, East Sussex
  • Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) Award - Winners: Woodlands School, Leatherhead, Surrey
  • Community Friendly Award - Winners: Talk About Team, Norfolk Community Health and Care NHS Trust, Norwich, Norfolk
  • SLCN Innovation Award - Winners: I CAN's Talk About Talk programme, London Highly commended: County Durham Youth Offending Service, Durham and Talk About Team, Norfolk Community Health and Care NHS Trust, Norwich, Norfolk
  • Communication Champion Award - Winners: Bev Crisp, Whitby & Moors Children Centre, North Yorkshire, Highly commended: Cordula Hastings, Charles Warren Academy, Milton Keynes
  • Young Person of the Year Award - Winner: Jonathan Middleditch, Moor House School and College (Suffolk), Highly commended: James Curtis, London - AVUK
  • Communication Commitment School of the Year Award - Winner: Holy Trinity Primary School, Halifax, Yorkshire, Highly commended: Longmoor Community Primary School, Liverpool and Fonthill Primary, Bristol

With such a wide variety of awards and so many applications, judging the awards is no easy feat! That's why some of the biggest names in speech, language and communication collaborated to help choose this year's winners. The judges were:

  • Christopher Hall, Managing Director, Pearson (Chair)
  • Anne Fox, Director, The Communication Trust (Chair)
  • Norbert Lieckfeldt, British Stammering Association (Chair)
  • Kamini Gadhok, RCSLT
  • Virginia Beardshaw, CEO, ICAN
  • Peter Sutcliffe, Editor, SEN Magazine
  • Jonathan Douglas, Director, National Literacy Trust
  • Lesley Munro, Pearson
  • Jack Fradgley, Young Person of the Year 2012
  • Hilary Berry, Headteacher, Over Hall Community School
  • Jill Duffy, Vice President, UK Schools, Pearson
  • Clare O'Rourke, Peacehaven Community School and 2012 Secondary School Winner
  • Shane Dangar, Communication Champion 2013/14
  • Anna Reeves, Manager of ACE Centre
  • Michael Beakhouse, Reading Borough Council and Past Winner
  • Malcolm Reeve, Academies Enterprise Trust
  • Janet Cooper, Stoke Speaks Out and Past Shine a Light Award Winner
  • Liz Bayram, PACEY
  • Zoe Peden, InSane Logic
  • Laura Steuart Fothringham, Programme Manager, The Communication Trust
  • Shona Crichton, Professional Advisor, The Communication Trust
  • Jack Williams, Project Officer, The Communication Trust
  • Rhiannon Walton, 2012 SLCN Innovation winner
  • Joy Rutter, SEN Governor, Linton Colliery First School
  • Julie Steele, Specialist Speech and Language HLTA
  • Helen Fidler, ESCAL Interim Strategic Lead and Programme Manager, Sheffield City Council
  • Aidan Baker, 2013/14 Young Person of the Year
  • Derek Munn, Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists (RCSLT)

Please click here to read the press release about the Awards.